The Weaving Word

Weaving together the threads that make up my passion for the written word…as an author, editor, and follower of The Word.

Meet Morganne…

While I was hosting for other writers during the June Solstice tour, they were hosting for me.  As part of the tour, my Journey to Aviad characters gave some fun interviews, and I wrote a couple of articles and shared excerpts.  While I’m away at Camp NaNoWriMo this month, I thought it might be a good time to share some of those with all of you.  I still anticipate that the next book in the series will be out this fall, so the journey will continue very soon.


Character Interview with Morganne
(Hosted by Ali Cross)

What kind of relationship do have with your mother?
I wish that I had some fond memories of my mother, but in truth she always treated me more like a servant, or an apprentice, than a daughter. Her past remains a mystery to me—she would never speak of it. I always got the feeling that our presence reminded her of something from long ago that she wanted to forget. And not being able to forget made her more angry and bitter by the year. Growing up, I was determined to not be like her, which only made the tension between us worse. Honestly, being away from her poisonous influence has lifted a huge weight from my soul that I was weary of carrying.

How has your relationship with your sister Elowyn changed? Elowyn surprised me—I am not sure when she grew from a little child I needed to watch after, to the capable, independent girl she has become. Through everything that has happened to us, I’ve learned not to underestimate her. I suspect that being away from our mother will allow her to finally come into her own and find her place in the world. It will be difficult for me though; I am now responsible for her, yet I cannot control her as though I was her mother. I can only hope to earn her respect well enough that she will allow me to guide her with whatever wisdom Aviad grants me.

Do you have any regrets about leaving Tyroc?
I do not regret my decision—not yet. Our future would have been a bleak and joyless one had we stayed. But I do feel some guilt about the manner in which we left. I do not know how our mother will fare without us, we gave her no warning at all. Much as she would loathe to admit it, she relied on my skills, and Elowyn’s, for her survival.

Now that you have a chance to start over, what is your greatest hope for the future?
Right now it is hard to hope beyond our immediate need to get to Minhaven safely. I pray daily that we all arrive there whole and well, and that we can make a new and better life for ourselves. Sometimes I lie awake at night, burdened by this huge responsibility I have taken for my sisters’ lives. But I have found comfort in prayer that we are on the path Aviad has chosen for us.

Your tutor, Gareth, had a huge impact on your life before he was forced to leave Tyroc. You wanted to go with him at the time, but could not. Do you ever think you will ever try to find him?
My heart wishes for it to be so, but my mind tells me that it would be a fool’s chase. I do not even know where he went, or if he stayed once he got there. If we ever cross paths again in this life, it will be Aviad’s doing.

About weavingword

Allison D. Reid is a Christian Fantasy author with a fondness for Medieval history. Her first published series, the Wind Rider Chronicles, embraces traditional fantasy elements but is also infused with deeper spiritual themes. The first two books in the series, "Journey to Aviad" and "Ancient Voices: Into the Depths" can be found at Amazon and other online book retailers. "Journey to Aviad" is now FREE. Visit http://allisondreid.com/books-2/ to learn more.

3 comments on “Meet Morganne…

  1. leeduigon
    July 11, 2015

    Hmm, I wonder how an interview with my character, Wytt the Omah, would turn out. It might not be printable.

    Like

    • weavingword
      July 11, 2015

      That WOULD be a fun interview, but you may be right. I wonder if we could get a translator…

      Like

      • leeduigon
        July 11, 2015

        We might also have to ply him with nice, crunchy beetles.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Post Categories

Follow The Weaving Word on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 880 other followers

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Heritage Calling

A Historic England Blog

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

England's History

The Trails and Tribulations of English History

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

newfreekindlebooks.com

Updated listing of free and discounted eBooks for your Kindle

Duri Rolvsson

Stories of Adventure & Friendship

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Darlene Foster's Blog

dreamer of dreams, teller of tales

Write Inside Out

Inside Everyone is a Great Writer

OPERATION ECHO

Empowering Kingdom Believers

Paul Davis

My creations, life, and musings

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Author David Wiley

Author of science fiction and fantasy stories, choosing to write the stories that he would love to read.

www.ginabriganti.com

Be Inspired. Inspire.

