The Weaving Word

Weaving together the threads that make up my passion for the written word…as an author, editor, and follower of The Word.

Featured Author: RJ Mirabal

Solstice TourEnjoy this month-long tour featuring authors of all fantasy genres.  Maybe among them you will find a new favorite! (Note that I have not read all of these works, and their appearance here is not necessarily a personal endorsement.)

RJ Mirabal is today’s featured author from the Magic of Solstice Fantasy Writers’ Tour.

Help us get to know you better!  What do you write, and how do you describe yourself as an author?

My stories are what I’ve dubbed Southwest Contemporary Fantasy because of the New Mexico setting. I’ve also found my work closely resembles what is called “Magical Realism.” I am most interested in crafting stories from out of my own imagination, creating my own world that compares to my home, New Mexico, but with interesting twists. This allows me to use a setting and environment I’m familiar with, yet gives me the freedom to re-create it according to my own vision.

Of all the characters you’ve created, which one do you wish you could hang out with in real life and why?

Nersite, a small Nohmin who lives underground and is a great little storyteller, seems the most friendly and compatible to me. He likes a good time, has an ironic sense of humor, and doesn’t make high-maintenance demands on his friends. Nersite is an outdoors kind of guy and ready for an adventure which also makes him appealing to me. Some of my other characters, especially my main character, Don, would probably wear on my nerves after a while. On the other hand, Raquela, Don’s love interest is a fascinating woman who brings together many of things I like about the interesting women I’ve known.

What innermost passion drives your writing, and what do you hope your readers feel or experience when they read your work?

I get these atypical ideas all the time: strange plots, odd characters, bizarre situations, settings with surreal features, anomalies of all kinds. Writing is the only way I can pull them out of my imagination and make them “real.” That passion to re-create these ideas is what drives me. It is my hope that my readers will be equally fascinated and inspired by my work. Being a life-long teacher, I’m always trying to move people to start their own explorations. That is my hope with my work.

Synopsis

The Tower of Il Serrohe front cover finalBook titles: The Tower of Il Serrohe and Extreme Dust Storms May Exist (Books 1 & 2 of the Rio Grande Parallax Series)

  • Don Vargas, a man who has lost his way.
  • A rundown casita near the Middle Rio Grande Valley in New Mexico.
  • Nightwing, a bat offering an unlikely hero a formidable quest.
  • A Portal to another valley, the Valle Abajo, where lifestyles are primitive.
  • Clans in the Valle Abajo begging for help to overcome the Soreyes, a wily clan terrorizing the valley for generations.
  • A Tower erected by the Soreyes which seems to be a mysterious source of their power.

Tower of Il Serrohe Map Aug 2012All this leads to a unique modern fantasy involving curanderas, an alcoholic looking for escape from the failures of his life, an enigmatic bat who manipulates events behind the scenes, adventures, a beautiful woman, and more surprises in this contemporary New Mexico-based tale.

Though the book ends, the story doesn’t. Book 2 of the Rio Grande Parallax: Extreme Dust Storms May Exist is now available. Many familiar characters from The Tower return along with new exciting personalities to spice up the adventure:

Extreme Dust Storms May Exist (release date coming up in mid-July 2015):

extreme_dust_cover_final JPEG_by_wujiart-d7ersnuIt is five years after the final events of The Tower of Il Serrohe and Esther, a sixteen-year-old honor student and athlete, suffers a mysterious accident and dreams of a valley much like her Rio Luna home, yet ominously different. Next, a bat repeatedly slams its body against her window during a powerful wind storm and she hears a whispering in the darkness.

It is the bat, Nightwing, who persuaded Don to take on his mission in The Tower. Nightwing begins to persuade Esther, Don’s younger cousin, to use her intelligence and resourcefulness to drive away the Soreyes from the Valle Abajo—the valley of her dreams. As she shares these disturbing details with her best friend, Markey, they both worry Esther is going insane.

However, new dangers threaten when word reaches the Valle about a murderous clan in the far away Mountains of Sky east of the Valle while in the west there lives another band of Soreyes. Meanwhile, a mysterious presence lurks in the background as the saga of the Rio Grande Parallax continues.

Interview

How real are my characters?

Some of my characters are obviously fantasy, but based on interesting human peculiarities of most every person I’ve ever met. Even Don, though a regular human, is not based on any one person, but a collection of individuals I’ve known and other characters I’ve encountered in literature. I’ve tried hard to “test” my characters—even the fantasy ones—against reality so that I hope readers will find them believable given the setting and plot I’ve created.

What larger social message does my series convey?

People tend to put themselves in little groups and the groups come into conflict with each other… I think people from different cultures are a bit suspicious of each other. The clans in the book have some elements of New Mexico, but they are also universal; they could be from any part of the world.

What is the general theme of The Rio Grande Parallax series?

The message is: “All of what we perceive to be reality is a function of our perception which is informed by our normal senses and our emotional and philosophical states of being.” And, as always: evil is bad, kindness is good, and love is essential to life.

No big agenda other than entertaining my readers who will share in my imagination as they read the book.

Personal Comments: Why New Mexico Fantasy?

I’ve always loved the way fantasy and science fiction take my imagination beyond the ordinary. Realizing the obsessive creation of stories in my head meant I should be a writer, I set out to fashion a unique niche for my musings calling it Southwest Contemporary Fantasy, specifically New Mexico fantasy. Thus Don, Nersite, Raquela and all the other characters were born and sent out on their unpredictable adventures.

But like many children, they have their own ideas, and I struggle to keep up with them, attempting to tell their story as accurately as I can. I admit they share some of my life experience growing up in New Mexico with its unique culture, terrain, and climate. But at times, I wonder where these people came from!

Join me as I chronicle their adventures and challenges.

Author Biography

RJ Mirabal face square pix LoResRJ Mirabal loves the Middle Rio Grande Valley having lived there for most of his life. Los Lunas High School 2006 Teacher of the Year, author RJ Mirabal, went on to win the Excellence in Education Award for NEA-New Mexico in 2007, having taught English, speech, drama and computer literacy. Now happily retired, he purses writing and music while volunteering with a motorcycle club and teachers’ organizations. RJ enjoys exploring New Mexico’s wilderness areas on his four-wheeler and traveling with his wife, Cheryl. The Tower of Il Serrohe is his debut novel.

Purchase

For a limited time, RJ’s first book, The Tower of Il Serrohe, is available in Nook and Kindle formats for free on his publisher, Black Rose Writing’s site: The Tower for Free!

Black Rose Writing: http://goo.gl/fZXWgF
Amazon: http://goo.gl/GvXAUT
Barnes & Noble: http://goo.gl/42OHpk
Smashwords: http://goo.gl/2LmWHu
Signed copy from the author or other questions, email: rjmirabal@gmail.com

Connect with the Author

Website/Blog:  http://rjmirabal.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rjmirabalauthor?fref=ts

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+RJMirabal/posts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rj_mirabal

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=244795416&authType=NAME_SEARCH&authToken=HC1z&locale=en_US&trk=tyah&trkInfo=clickedVertical%3Amynetwork%2Cidx%3A1-1-1%2CtarId%3A1430530113880%2Ctas%3Arj%20mi 

About weavingword

Allison D. Reid is a Christian Fantasy author with a fondness for Medieval history. Her first published series, the Wind Rider Chronicles, embraces traditional fantasy elements but is also infused with deeper spiritual themes. The first two books in the series, "Journey to Aviad" and "Ancient Voices: Into the Depths" can be found at Amazon and other online book retailers. "Journey to Aviad" is now FREE. Visit http://allisondreid.com/books-2/ to learn more.

2 comments on “Featured Author: RJ Mirabal

  1. dkchronicles2013
    June 13, 2015

    Reblogged this on Dragon Knight Chronicles.

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Blog Tour Like No Other! *June 1st-30th* | The Magic of Solstice Fantasy Writers' Tour

Leave a Reply

Post Categories

Follow The Weaving Word on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 880 other followers

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Heritage Calling

A Historic England Blog

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

England's History

The Trails and Tribulations of English History

Don Massenzio's Blog

Independent Authors Unite!

newfreekindlebooks.com

Updated listing of free and discounted eBooks for your Kindle

Duri Rolvsson

Stories of Adventure & Friendship

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Darlene Foster's Blog

dreamer of dreams, teller of tales

Write Inside Out

Inside Everyone is a Great Writer

OPERATION ECHO

Empowering Kingdom Believers

Paul Davis

My creations, life, and musings

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Author David Wiley

Author of science fiction and fantasy stories, choosing to write the stories that he would love to read.

www.ginabriganti.com

Be Inspired. Inspire.

