The Weaving Word

Weaving together the threads that make up my passion for the written word…as an author, editor, and follower of The Word.

Featured Author: C.B. MacGillavry

Solstice TourEnjoy this month-long tour featuring authors of all fantasy genres.  Maybe among them you will find a new favorite! (Note that I have not read all of these works, and their appearance here is not necessarily a personal endorsement.)

C.B. MacGillavry is today’s featured author from the Magic of Solstice Fantasy Writers’ Tour.

Help us get to know you better!  What do you write, and how do you describe yourself as an author?

I write Urban Eco Fantasy for Young Adults, I have created a world that revolves around one specific place and I play a lot with all the characters. And I focus on the environment.

I like a good happy ever after, even if I don’t want my writings to be too lovey-dovey. On the other hand, I’m a great believer in the power of love, so at the end of the road that’s what I write about. I hope people will like the way I write and what I write about.

Of all the characters you’ve created, which one do you wish you could hang out with in real life and why?

Most of my characters are strongly based on my friends and some family members, so I already get to hang out with them. As for the others, well, there are a few I’d wish back in my life, but if I must pick one, it would be Joe, the main character’s boyfriend. He’s a great guy, fun to be around and easy to be with. He has given me so much, he would be my choice.

What innermost passion drives your writing, and what do you hope your readers feel or experience when they read your work?

Sanity. My mental health is what pushes me the most: if I didn’t write, I’d waste away in misery. My life isn’t exactly as I would want it to be and I use my writing as the place I go to forget the everyday stuff and just be happy. I also interact with many people I really love and make them do cool stuff too.

I really wish for my readers to learn more about themselves and about the planet we live on because of what I write. I try to address issues like the environment and human relations in my stories and novels, hoping for my reader to see what I mean.

Synopsis

The Eco fantasy series Domus Dianae for young adults is composed, so far, of novels and short stories revolving around a group of characters of various nature and backgrounds.

Supermoon

The first short novel’s main character is a girl of seventeen, Victoria Springer, who finds herself endangered by three people. Their goal is to pollute the Lake Garda and kill the girl. She finds out that she has magical powers she was destined to have, thanks to the aid of people and fantastic creatures who live in and around a highly magical place. From very shy and reluctant, she grows to accept a more active role in the story. She also learns about dragons and fairies, gnomes and magic, and at the end of the novel she finds love.

Here be dragons! A Michaelmas tale

The first short story picks up where the novel has left, with the main character struggling to accept her new relationship and finding out more about the boy she loves. She is taught about certain mechanics in the magical world and has to fight against poachers in order to save the life of a group of nymphs and the dragons from exposure.

The lights of Saint John. A Fairy’s Tale

The second short story is a fairy tale, the main character is Agatha the fairy, who has to overcome her past issues with long lost lovers and grow towards another more suitable partner, a nature spirit she encounters on a quest. She has to help him find the golden cloth, in order to save nature from the greed of men. She fight against her last lover, which is also a metaphor for her fighting against all the wrong he has done to her.

Domus Dianae is the magical place on the shores of the Lake Garda, Italy, around which the series revolves. There is an ecological theme waving through every individual story, together with a quote from Shakespeare and a song setting the tone of the  individual tales. The fantasy element also brushes against both real historical events and Greek mythology, as the place chosen for the tales has historically been home to a Greek colony and further inhabited throughout history.

The series will include at least two more short stories and a longer novel (work in progress), mostly set in Indonesia.

Author Biography

pic C.B. Mac GillavryC.B. Mac Gillavry studied English and Dutch literature, she has an affinity with Colonial Dutch literature. C.B., like so many authors, started writing as soon as she was able to write, although the actual reading started at a later stadium, with the discovery of Jane Austen. She enjoys many different genres and writers, preferably in the original language. The environment is a key topic in her writings and she ideally writes for young adults, in the hope of enchanting them, even if just for a short while.

Connect with the Author

Website/Blog: http://cbmacgillavry.weebly.com/

About weavingword

Allison D. Reid is a Christian Fantasy author with a fondness for Medieval history. Her first published series, the Wind Rider Chronicles, embraces traditional fantasy elements but is also infused with deeper spiritual themes. The first two books in the series, "Journey to Aviad" and "Ancient Voices: Into the Depths" can be found at Amazon and other online book retailers. "Journey to Aviad" is now FREE. Visit http://allisondreid.com/books-2/ to learn more.

One comment on “Featured Author: C.B. MacGillavry

  1. dkchronicles2013
    June 9, 2015

    Reblogged this on Dragon Knight Chronicles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Post Categories

Follow The Weaving Word on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 880 other followers

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Heritage Calling

A Historic England Blog

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

England's History

The Trails and Tribulations of English History

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

newfreekindlebooks.com

Updated listing of free and discounted eBooks for your Kindle

Duri Rolvsson

Stories of Adventure & Friendship

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Darlene Foster's Blog

dreamer of dreams, teller of tales

Write Inside Out

Inside Everyone is a Great Writer

OPERATION ECHO

Empowering Kingdom Believers

Paul Davis

My creations, life, and musings

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Author David Wiley

Author of science fiction and fantasy stories, choosing to write the stories that he would love to read.

www.ginabriganti.com

Be Inspired. Inspire.

