The Weaving Word

Weaving together the threads that make up my passion for the written word…as an author, editor, and follower of The Word.

Matthew 7:24-29 – The Wise and Foolish Builders

I know it has been a long time since I’ve added to this blog. The pressure has definitely been getting to me; work, family, our move to a different part of the state, and all of the challenges that came with it.  I’ve done some editing, but haven’t been writing at all, not even on my book which is so close to being finished.  Funny how NOT doing something can add just as much pressure as all of my responsibilities.  Pressure on my soul–like the constant ache of missing a loved one who lives far out of reach. 

The coming month holds an especially difficult challenge for me as I take on a work-related task that will consume my time and pull me well out of my comfort zone.  The only way I’m going to get through it is with God by my side, to guide me and calm my inner storms.  So here I am again, trying to get back to what I love so that I can breathe fully again.

I left off in Matthew 7, at the story of the wise and foolish builders.  “‘Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who builds his house on the rock.  The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock.  But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who builds his house on sand.  The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.’ When Jesus had finished saying these things, the crowds were amazed at his teaching, because he taught as one who had authority, and not as their teachers of the law.”

We’ve all played the part of the foolish builder, haven’t we?  We develop selective hearing with God–picking out the parts we like, the parts we’re comfortable with, and setting the rest aside.  What He’s telling us to do seems too strict, too difficult, or too frightening because it means we have to trust, and even take huge leaps of faith into the unknown.  We are masters at rationalizing our own foolishness…until the wind and the rains come.  Suddenly we can see our flimsy little house of cards for what it is when it starts to come apart around us.  Too late, we wish we had listened and built a sturdy house on the rock.  God was right all along–what a concept!  But putting God’s words into practice is not always easy, imperfect as we are, and we tend to rebuild the same house of cards, just painting it a different color. 

But foolish as I may be in so many areas of my life, I know that the foundation of my faith, the trust of my salvation, must be firmly built on one rock alone–that of Jesus. 

Lord, as I walk through a world full of glittery, shifting sand, help me to keep my feet firmly on the foundation of your truth. Your directions and corrections are always for my own good, even when my limited vision cannot see or understand.  That is where trust comes in, and you are certainly worthy of my complete, unfaltering trust.  Who else has paid the ultimate price for me, even knowing the fullness of my failings?  No one but you, Lord.  Thank you for always being there, even when I look away, when I stumble and fail, when I’m afraid to say yes to the opportunities you set before me.  I pray that each day, with your help, I can learn to get beyond my failings, clinging less to my own stubborn ways, and learning to be more like you.  Amen.

About weavingword

Allison D. Reid is a Christian Fantasy author with a fondness for Medieval history. Her first published series, the Wind Rider Chronicles, embraces traditional fantasy elements but is also infused with deeper spiritual themes. The first two books in the series, "Journey to Aviad" and "Ancient Voices: Into the Depths" can be found at Amazon and other online book retailers. "Journey to Aviad" is now FREE. Visit http://allisondreid.com/books-2/ to learn more.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2014 by in In the Word.

Post Categories

Follow The Weaving Word on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 880 other followers

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Heritage Calling

A Historic England Blog

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

England's History

The Trails and Tribulations of English History

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

newfreekindlebooks.com

Updated listing of free and discounted eBooks for your Kindle

Duri Rolvsson

Stories of Adventure & Friendship

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Darlene Foster's Blog

dreamer of dreams, teller of tales

Write Inside Out

Inside Everyone is a Great Writer

OPERATION ECHO

Empowering Kingdom Believers

Paul Davis

My creations, life, and musings

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Author David Wiley

Author of science fiction and fantasy stories, choosing to write the stories that he would love to read.

www.ginabriganti.com

Be Inspired. Inspire.

