The Weaving Word

Weaving together the threads that make up my passion for the written word…as an author, editor, and follower of The Word.

Matthew 6:25-34 – Do Not Worry

I’ll admit, I’m a worrier.  If I could have this one aspect of my personality surgically removed, I’d make the appointment today.  In reality, all I can do is learn to cope…some days are better than others.  There is no shortage of things to worry about in this crazy world, especially when you’re trying to raise kids.  But even with the wealth of real things to worry about, it is also easy for me to get caught up in “what if” scenarios, and I end up worrying about things that will probably never even happen.  When I feel like my worrying is getting a little out of control, this passage from the gospels is soothing music to my soul.  It reminds me that God is taking care of me and watching over me.  “Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”  Certainly not—all I can do is lessen the quality of life I’ve been given by making myself miserable, something I’m sure the enemy is happy to use to his advantage.

This passage paints a perfect picture of how God feels about us, and cares about us…how his love works in our lives.  He feeds us, and not just physically.  This is a tangible sort of love that reaches down and touches us.  He cares when we’re hungry, for food, for love, for wisdom, for perspective, for comfort, and for a million other things we need as human beings. He clothes us too, in body, and in the Spirit, so that all the world knows we belong to Him and He lives within us.  God’s provision is the only one worth pursuing, everything else is “here today and tomorrow thrown into the fire.”  As long as we seek God first, everything else will fall into place, because He knows our needs, and He longs to care for us if we will only let Him.

All my life I have found comfort in this passage, and yet it is still so hard not to worry; to let difficulty and fear rule my thoughts.  Lord, remind me each day to seek you before all else, no matter what my circumstances are.  Despite my worries, you would clothe me like the lily of the field, and you have promised me eternal life in a kingdom of unimaginable splendor and peace.  Somehow, even after all these years, I still need to learn that is enough.  And not only enough, but everything I could ever possibly want, need, or dream of.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

About weavingword

Allison D. Reid is a Christian Fantasy author with a fondness for Medieval history. Her first published series, the Wind Rider Chronicles, embraces traditional fantasy elements but is also infused with deeper spiritual themes. The first two books in the series, "Journey to Aviad" and "Ancient Voices: Into the Depths" can be found at Amazon and other online book retailers. "Journey to Aviad" is now FREE. Visit http://allisondreid.com/books-2/ to learn more.

One comment on “Matthew 6:25-34 – Do Not Worry

  1. Karyn Almendarez
    July 22, 2013

    I am so encouraged by your beautiful blogs! I would love for you to go to my website at http://www.karynalmendarez.com and click on Blogging for Life. As a parent, I never worried enough. I had a mom who worried constantly, so I learned how not to fear the unknown.
    Thanks for your blogs.
    Karyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2013 by in In the Word.

Post Categories

Follow The Weaving Word on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 880 other followers

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Heritage Calling

A Historic England Blog

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

England's History

The Trails and Tribulations of English History

Don Massenzio's Blog

Independent Authors Unite!

newfreekindlebooks.com

Updated listing of free and discounted eBooks for your Kindle

Duri Rolvsson

Stories of Adventure & Friendship

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Darlene Foster's Blog

dreamer of dreams, teller of tales

Write Inside Out

Inside Everyone is a Great Writer

OPERATION ECHO

Empowering Kingdom Believers

Paul Davis

My creations, life, and musings

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Author David Wiley

Author of science fiction and fantasy stories, choosing to write the stories that he would love to read.

www.ginabriganti.com

Be Inspired. Inspire.

