The Weaving Word

Weaving together the threads that make up my passion for the written word…as an author, editor, and follower of The Word.

Matthew 1:1-18 – The Genealogy of Jesus

This has been one of those crazy days where nothing went as planned.  Though this is the first chance I’ve had to sit down and write, I’ve been thinking about this passage all day—more specifically how I was going to approach it.  I realized right away that my impulse was to go the intellectual route…to get into the specifics about the genealogy, what it would have meant to the primarily Jewish audience Matthew was speaking to, etc., etc.  But that comes all too easy to me, and that’s not why I decided to write this blog.  I need this to go deeper than my intellect, I want it to be real, and personal…to work in my heart and show me something that I don’t need a commentary to fully understand.  Not so easy to do with a genealogy. 

Instead of glossing over the names, I looked at them carefully and noticed something.  This is the legal ancestry of Jesus through Joseph, the linage of the promised messiah.  You would expect it to be a pristine group of people, but it isn’t.  Some of the biggest heroes on that list were seriously flawed people.  No one can deny that David is one of the most significant figures in the Bible.  As important as he was, was also a murderer and an adulterer.  Not something I would be quick to embrace in my own family history, but God loved David and used him anyway! 

In a strange way that gives me encouragement.  I may not be a murderer, but I’m just as flawed as David, probably more so.  Yet God isn’t waiting for me to become a perfect person before he can use me.  He’s waiting for me to relinquish my own stubborn will long enough to listen for his.  He’s waiting for me to say “yes” and actually follow through even when he tries to take me beyond my comfort zone.  Definitely something I need to work on if I want to make a difference for Christ in this world.  After all, it’s not about who I am, or what I’ve done, but who I know…and who knows me. 

About weavingword

Allison D. Reid is a Christian Fantasy author with a fondness for Medieval history. Her first published series, the Wind Rider Chronicles, embraces traditional fantasy elements but is also infused with deeper spiritual themes. The first two books in the series, "Journey to Aviad" and "Ancient Voices: Into the Depths" can be found at Amazon and other online book retailers. "Journey to Aviad" is now FREE. Visit http://allisondreid.com/books-2/ to learn more.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in In the Word.

Post Categories

Follow The Weaving Word on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 880 other followers

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Heritage Calling

A Historic England Blog

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

England's History

The Trails and Tribulations of English History

Don Massenzio's Blog

Independent Authors Unite!

newfreekindlebooks.com

Updated listing of free and discounted eBooks for your Kindle

Duri Rolvsson

Stories of Adventure & Friendship

medievalbooks

Erik Kwakkel blogging about medieval manuscripts

Darlene Foster's Blog

dreamer of dreams, teller of tales

Write Inside Out

Inside Everyone is a Great Writer

OPERATION ECHO

Empowering Kingdom Believers

Paul Davis

My creations, life, and musings

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Author David Wiley

Author of science fiction and fantasy stories, choosing to write the stories that he would love to read.

www.ginabriganti.com

Be Inspired. Inspire.

